Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

A Little bit of Faith & Leadership

2 Comments


FAITH

FAITH by cacigar via Flickr

By: Jacqueline Galvan

Faith is an important aspect in my life. It is something that evokes positive emotions for me, especially through prayer.  Prayer is something universal throughout religious organizations; I use it constantly in my everyday life. Recently, I had forgotten the goodness of faith. I was going threw a tough time with my car. Yes my car. It seemed like all at once all of this warning slights decided to flash on the dashboard. I was certain that I did not have any warranty left on the car from the dealer, so I got an estimate from a private mechanic. After he gave me the estimate I was not exactly thrilled. There were so many things wrong with the car and it was going to cost, what felt like a fortune. I had no idea how or where I was going to get all this money. I was stressing over it, I even got sick with a respiratory infection. I was just down in the dumps being so negative about everything. It felt like a negative cloud of emotions just took over me.

During this whole ordeal I was in one of my MBA classes one night with Dr. Grant, who was one of my professors, was giving us his management tip for the night. I always enjoyed these he would always start off with a personal story then give us suggestions on how to handle these things, usually by means of faith.  This management tip stood out me in particular because he told us that whatever we are going threw; big or small all we needed to do was ask the lord to show us he is still there with us. He suggested for us to try this for a week, every morning when we wake up we just simply ask God to show us he is in our life. I have to admit I was skeptical to doing this for my situation because all I could think of my car. I was engulfed in the negativity of that I honestly didn’t think a morning prayer with help me feel better. I tried it regardless and I have to admit I was feeling less negative and more positive. I just felt good. During the course of this week, I had to take the car into the dealership so that they could fix up something only the dealer had access too. Well to my surprise they took a look at the other problems and it turned out that I still some sort of warranty on the car, which meant I wouldn’t have to spend the thousands and thousands of dollars I had originally thought in getting it fixed. It would cost practically nothing.  I was so relived. I thought to myself oh my gosh thank you Lord for hearing me. Even though I did not particularly pray for the car somehow my prayer was answered.

The burning question now is why is this important and how can it help anyone in their everyday life. It suddenly dawned on me that, faith, and a positive attitude are all tied into things a good leader should have. I know there are various types of leadership styles, some of which are more favorable than others but I have complied a list of five attributes that a good leader should poses. All these which I have experienced in my life through schooling, family, and my professional career.

1. A good leader is someone you can trust and have faith that they will lead you in the correct path. As a leader you have to be able to gain the trust of those within your organization. How do you gain the trust? By being honest and sincere in your vision and work ethic.

2. A good leader is someone who can communicate well with others. As a leader you have to be able to communicate in a clear and concise manner. You need to be able to do this in order to achieve the exact goals you envision for your team or organization as a whole.

3. A good leader has your best interest in mind.  A leader helps and guides the team and has the ability to delegate appropriate tasks to the proper individuals based on their strengths. They will want you to succeed whether it be in your personal life or professional life.

4. A good leader is confident. Being confident in what they say and maintaining confidence even when morale is low is important especially when various others look to you for direction and decision making.

5. And lastly a good leader is someone who can inspire.  They will inspire you to be like them, and to do great things. Like in my story my professor inspired me with his management tips and I have to say it really helped me. I can only hope that I too, through my leadership in my life can do the same for others.

My experience definitely re-instead my trust in my Faith and I could not have done without first trusting in what my professor shared with the class. I encourage you to keep these things in mind the next time you find yourself in a situation where you lead your organization or group.

Article Source: http://www.articlesbase.com/religion-articles/a-little-bit-of-faith-leadership-6817435.html

About the Author

Jacqueline Galvan is currently finishing up her MBA at Concordia University, Irvine, California. From a very young age she has always enjoyed writing in her own personal jouranls, and now is excited to share her experiances with the world.

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

2 thoughts on “A Little bit of Faith & Leadership

  1. Good points – glad we have a high priest who we can follow as our leader

    Like

  2. That’s so wonderful about your car and your faith in God. For myself, I realized that life is a choice. You have to know what you want and set an intention for it. You make some great points about leadership too. I’ll keep these things in mind as I continue on my journey in this life. I have no doubt that things will turn out great for you. I can sense the sincerity you put forth in your article. Thank you for your inspiring words.

    Like

What are you thinking?

