Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Mistified – Upcoming indie film about the Maori, self and spirit

Leave a comment


mistified_edited-1

Courtesy mistifiedthemovie.com

We now have Part 2 of an interview about the upcoming indie film called Mistified, a story about the Maori living in New Zealand (Here’s Part 1, if you missed it).

Kathy Wilson, producer of the film, has spent much time among the tribes and has dived full-heartedly into making this project a success, not just for them, but for what they stand for; their relations to the earth and spirituality.

Why do you see Mistified as a movie and not a book?

Why a film: because there is no other media that provides the opportunity to immerse a group people into an experience. Words, sounds, and visuals can create an inspiring and sometimes transformational experience that an individual may carry with them for the rest of their life. Films are the quintessence of “sound” and “light,” the transformative frequencies we humans resonate with.

I believe Mistified will trigger ancient memories that will encourage viewers to embark on their own epic, magical journeys. Hopefully, the heroine and her journey will trigger you down the “yellow brick road” of your own creation.  What the movie has done for me, I believe it will do for others.

How have you changed spiritually after your time in New Zealand?

It is hard for me to evaluate my spiritual progress into words. I can still get overwhelmed with all the things I think I need to be accomplished each day, however, I do have more of an awareness that things seem to happen in their own divine order when I stop trying to control everything.

Did you experience a phenomenon while spending time with the Maori? If so, was it life changing?

Yes. On my first trip when I journeyed with my friend, Barry. I went to explore some rock formations by his home. There are three distinct groupings of very large boulders. When you enter there is a rock that resembles the Mother Mary. The legion is that each area represents a different lineage of tribe: the water, stone and air peoples. When we hiked into the area I had no idea where we were. It was a beautiful, sunny day and I was enjoying the majesty of these huge boulders. I wondered off onto a ledge overlooking a valley. I sat on the edge totally engulfed in the beauty, the warmth of the sun and soft, gentle breeze were glorious. I’m not sure how long I stayed, as time seemed to stand still, but when I got up and turned to go back, all these beautiful giant boulders around me now looked very different. They appeared to be in the shapes of sea animals. Everyone I looked at resembled a different sea creature and the biggest shock was when I turned and looked at where I had been sitting. It was a huge whale and I had been sitting on the tail. I was then told I had been in the section of boulders that represented the water people. I don’t know what others see when they go there, but that was my experience and for me, a very awe-inspiring moment in my life.

How do you expect to be changed after working on this production?

I can’t say for now, however, I know it will be a grand adventure with possibilities beyond my wildest dreams.

Lastly, how can we follow the project?

There are five ways we would love you to connect with us:

  1. Join our mailing list at www.mistifiedthemovie.com
  2. Like our Facebook Page www.facebook.com/mistifiedthemovie
  3. Chat to us on Twitter (don’t have as yet)
  4. Donate at http://www.indigogo  (link coming soon)
  5. Read our blog at www.mistifiedthemovie.com/blog

Haere mai, welcome…..come on in and join us.

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

What are you thinking?

