Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Crooked Mirror: A Memoir of Polish – Jewish Reconciliation by Louise Steinman a book review by Haim Dov Beliak, Jewish Journal

Leave a comment


Poland in the 1990s by HBC

Poland in the 1990s by HBC

One of our contacts, Rabbi Allen Maller, suggested that I take a look at this book review by Haim Dov Beliak. It brought to mind some connections my own family has with both Poland and WW-II.

My father completed his officer training a short time before the war ended. Lucky for him, I guess. And I suppose lucky for me. If he had been killed like so many in that hideous conflict, I wouldn’t be here now.

Later in life, he and my mother did volunteer work with CESO in Poland. Although I didn’t go along with them, I did some editing for CESO and heard many stories about Europe from my parents, enhanced by my mom’s photos, which were featured at the old Earthpages (before we became a blog).

So in a roundabout way, Rabbi Maller’s link spoke to me » http://www.jewishjournal.com/books/article/retrieving_a_familys_thread_in_poland

—MC

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

What are you thinking?

