Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

The journey had begun

1 Comment


During the Khareef (Monsoon) the mountains aro...

During the Khareef (Monsoon) the mountains around Salalah and Al-Ghaydah are rainsoaked and shrouded in fog (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By Meena Suresh

A few years back, I was walking with my little niece along Salalah’s beautiful, lush green countryside during its monsoon season. The landscape was breathtakingly fascinating. At one moment, I was lost in the scenic beauty of the place and time stood still. All of a sudden, my niece tugged at my dress and gave words to my thoughts…’Who could have painted such a beautiful landscape..? If God, then how must God be ? Can I see him one day ?’

From a distance a musical band had just started a performance as we could hear the sweet music which seemed to fill my very being. ‘Wow..Now I realize that music is food for our soul..’ quipped my niece. ‘Aunty..in which part of our body is our soul ..?’..she was quiet after that…the lilting music had put her in a state of wonder.

For a few days after this visit, I could just close my eyes and visualize the sight and hear the music.. which really transported me to a state of bliss.

I thought of the questions posed by my niece. She had a lot more coming up on different occasions. From highly philosophical ones such as ‘Where do feelings come from ?’, ‘Why does a person die?’, ‘Does he not exist anymore after he dies..?’ to  questioning simple facts such as ‘Why is the mango yellow and the grape green in colour ?, ‘Why does a dog only bark ..can’t it make other sounds or talk?.’

None of these, I could answer. I also realized that a child (my niece in this case) instinctively moves on to the next question, either  not expecting any answer from the adult or coming from a space of wonder than really asking a question.

However, this set me thinking. As children, we do ask and wonder about the various fascinating gifts this world has on display for us, but as we grow older we just take everything for granted and are caught up with our small and selfish ambitions and desires…  I felt I should look for at least some answers to the innumerable mysteries of this world.

Thus began my spiritual quest…..!!!

These days, the first source of information that comes to one’s mind, when researching a topic is the internet. I started browsing the internet for the works of scientists exploring the mysteries of the universe, philosophers works on the essence of things and spiritual truths expounded by saints.

As I started growing in wisdom, I realized that listening to music and praying to God, gives one a sense of expansion. To me, this meant that I was essentially something beyond just my physical body….possibly the ‘soul’ which transcended the boundaries of death. This understanding takes away the fear of death also.

I also realized that charity and selfless service to society, as propounded by all religions, gives one a further sense of expansion and awareness. These actions have to be performed regularly, to experience their beneficial effects. As one grows in these, one slowly starts realizing a oneness with the rest of creation… taking away the fear of physical limitations.

With the regular practice of selfless service, prayer, listening to soulful music and also singing from the heart, one’s intellect is sharpened and the consciousness expands. The mind becomes calm, free from worries, cravings, anger and associated stress.

Such a peaceful and calm mind, carries in itself the answers to all the mysteries of the universe….One who is able to be in this state at all times is a perfect being ….I feel this is the beautiful truth of life..of existence.

For me, the journey had begun…..

Article Source: http://www.articlesbase.com/mysticism-articles/the-journey-had-begun-6913487.html

About the Author

Meena Suresh, an information technology professional and a management consultant, is a free lance author. Her range of interests vary from technology, management practices to life, history  and spirituality.

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

One thought on “The journey had begun

  1. nice post by Meena Suresh – that little niece’s mind is going to find answers one day all on her own – the more difficult an authentic curiosity the more likely that that answer will be given – He always replies the worthy question – When we receive a wonderful gift we are so full of satisfaction ( burp) – but when we go out of our way to give or help someone in a way that it gives that person satisfaction the we are truly filled with incomparable joy – for it is in giving that we receive.

    Like

What are you thinking?

