Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Time Travel Novels : Arguably The Most Fascinating Topic

3 Comments


Time dilation in transversal motion. The requi...

Time dilation in transversal motion. The requirement that the speed of light is constant in every inertial reference frame leads to the theory of relativity (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

By Gary J. McCleary

Time travel is arguably the most fascinating topic in all of science fiction. If you are a fan of science fiction consider for a moment your favourite movies, books and episodes of television shows.

Which were the best episodes of Star Trek for example in all of its incarnations? Which episode would you consider to be the absolute best out of all the series? Think about your favourite movies and decide which is best out of straight adventure and exploration, fighting off monsters or the mind bending stories involving time travel.

There are two directions of possible travel, namely into the future or into the past. The truth is that travel into the future is not a problem and can be accomplished in a number of ways some of which are practical and others which are theoretically possible given future advances in technology.

We have…

Time dilation as proposed by Einstein as velocity approaches the speed of light. This has been verified even here on Earth by clocks travelling in high speed flight or in orbit and also by observing cosmic rays.

Suspended animation by freezing or even hibernation which the bears regularly do.

The normal aging process which takes our consciousness into the future at the steady rate of one second per second.

Now factor in things like black holes, wormholes, folded space, string theory etc and we have many possibilities to consider.

time travel using parallel universe.

time travel using parallel universe. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Now time travel into the past looks on the surface to be impossible because of the many paradoxes that it implies. However the laws of Physics are symmetrical and there is actually nothing in the laws that prohibits backward travel in time.

It is the exploring of the paradoxes that breathes life into the whole concept of time travel. The best known one is of course any variation on the so called ‘grandfather paradox’. This is where the time traveller goes back in time and murders his own grandfather before he gets around to fathering his father which means that the time traveller was never born which means that he never went back in time which means that he never killed his grandfather which means…well you get the picture.

In my Time Travel Novels I have explored many variations on this paradox and others. One explanation is that there are an infinite number of universes so every possibility is allowed for. Another is the theory that an event becomes its own cause so that whatever the time traveller does in the past it was meant to happen in the first place in order to set his existence in motion.

Think about any time travel story that you have ever seen or read and you will realise that they all involve a giant circle which appears to close on itself. The trick is in trying to pick where the break is in the circle.

Article Source: http://www.articlesbase.com/new-age-articles/time-travel-novels-arguably-the-most-fascinating-topic-7134323.html

About the Author

I had a good childhood as childhoods go. I didn’t like school very much and yet I went on to become a high school Maths teacher. After five years of that I returned to university to finish my own full-time study in Applied Mathematics IV. Around this time I began a part-time career as a lecturer in Engineering Studies at the University of Western Sydney.

The groundwork for the person that I am today was always there though because I have always had a love for anything to do with science fiction. After Life Novels

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

3 thoughts on “Time Travel Novels : Arguably The Most Fascinating Topic

  1. Yeah, gotta dig a good time travel tale. The Back to The Future Series is a staple Sci-Fi classic for me. I’ve lost count of the amount of times I have watched it. Great article!

    Like

  2. Yeah that is fun. For me I don’t necessarily have to watch sci-fi to get that “old time feeling” (Hank Williams). Last night I watched an episode of Bonanza (an old Western with Lorne Greene). When a horse came up to a – I don’t know what they called it back then – drinking well (?), suddenly I felt that I remembered that kind of scene.

    This might sound funny, coming from someone who critiques the belief in reincarnation. And I have to admit I reconsidered it for a few moments. But then I thought… well, maybe I’m just feeling the presence of someone who has passed, who did live back then. Or maybe, as I watched this late at night in the quiet of my room, I was psychologically connecting with that time period, through some kind of fold. Then I came to the conclusion that I don’t know for sure. But for me, that’s a more scientific position than adhering to any single theory. 🙂

    Like

    • Trough. That’s the word I was looking for. For the sake of honesty, I didn’t edit the above. I was just lying here before bedtime, listening to Ella Fitzgerald, and my thoughts went to this post. The word trough just popped into mind.

      Like

What are you thinking?

