Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Symbolism in “The Cat in the Hat”

1 Comment


Stuff Jeff Reads

CatInTheHatRecently my daughter pulled together a pile of books to give to Goodwill. Among them was The Cat in the Hat. It is such a classic book and I have read it countless times to my children over the years, I just couldn’t part with it. I surreptitiously removed it from the pile and slipped it onto my bookshelf.

Back when I was in college, I had taken an honors-level seminar and one of the books we studied was The Cat in the Hat. That section of the course was fascinating and made me look at this book from a completely different perspective. Even now, reading it again, I discovered more symbolism that I had never seen before. I decided to point out some of them so that the next time you read this book (and you will read it again) you will be aware of the symbolism…

View original post 480 more words

Author: Earthpages.org

Earthpages.org is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Make a difference. Submit your article today!

One thought on “Symbolism in “The Cat in the Hat”

  1. Great analysis. Very interesting. I think all creative acts draw upon symbolism from the collective conciousness in one way or another, even in terms of the way we relate to one another in society, but the big question for me is to what extent was the creator aware of this?

    Like

What are you thinking?

