Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

“A Brief History of Time” by Stephen Hawking

1 Comment


Stuff Jeff Reads

BriefHistoryTime

This book has been on my list for a while and I finally got around to reading it. I had high expectations for a couple reasons. First off, I am fascinated by theoretical physics. Wormholes, black holes, quantum mechanics, string theory, all that stuff I find intriguing. But more importantly, as a technical writer, I am very interested in how other writers of scientific and technical information are able to present complex ideas in a manner that is digestible for the lay person. From this perspective, Hawking excels in communicating deep and complicated ideas in a clear and concise manner that we commoners can grasp.

There is a lot of deep information and I could not do the book justice by trying to summarize it. So instead, I will cite a few quotes that sparked some thoughts and questions for me. The first one concerns event horizons associated with black…

View original post 721 more words

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

One thought on ““A Brief History of Time” by Stephen Hawking

  1. Yes, I read one his books years ago and it was great. The imagery he used made it very easy to imagine the concepts. I’m a big fan of his work!

    Like

What are you thinking?

