Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Meds vs. Meditation – A Simple Answer Just Won’t Do

Leave a comment


Today’s tweet links to a story that has some merit but also limitations. The conflict outlined here reminds me of related disagreements between Freudians and Jungians or, perhaps, artsy-literary folk and clinical psychologists.

After studying psychology, sociology and philosophy at the undergraduate level, philosophy and comparative religion for my masters, and then psychology and religious studies for my doctorate, I’ve formed my own opinions on the matter. But they’re not fixed nor dogmatic. I think each person’s unique answer to this conflict depends on

I suppose the last item could overlap with the first and second on the list. But for me, not all spirituality necessarily comes from or is on the same side as God. So the term “spirituality” itself demands some elaboration. This is not the place to do that. I discuss this idea throughout earthpages.ca. Entries relating to numinosity would be a good place to start if anyone wants to learn more.

Author: Michael Clark

I'm the administrator of Earthpages.org | Earthpages.ca with a Joint Honours B.A. in Psychology/Sociology at York and Trent U, an M.A. in Philosophy and Religion at Visva-Bharati, India, and a Ph.D. in Religious Studies at UOttawa.

What are you thinking?

