Earthpages.org

The Real Alternative

Obama is a great speaker and mythmaker but…

1 Comment


Tower of Freedom Underground Railroad Monument on June 17, 2016 in Windsor, Ontario, Canada.

US President Obama is a great speaker and mythmaker but I think a little mention of Canada’s role in the emancipation of black people would have been appropriate today at the Smithsonian. Obama and many Americans love to paint this myth that the USA is unique and “the greatest.” Some Americans say this so many times that sometimes I wonder if they’re trying to convince themselves. I mean, if you are really secure about something you don’t have to continually brag, do you?

Aside from that, it was a great speech today. I think Obama would have made a superlative first President of the World. But we’re not there yet. And with American exclusivism, it clearly will take some kind of shakeup before most Americans come on board with that idea. I suppose the same could be said for Canadians and for people of many other countries. Each for our own reasons, we remain an assortment of separate states, provinces, territories and jurisdictions.

A quick look at history, however, tells a different story. For the most part, countries are becoming larger, geographically speaking. Is it only a matter of time before we have a centralized government for Planet Earth? I think so. But as I said, we’re not quite there yet.

—MC, Toronto 9/24/16

Author: Earthpages.ca

Earthpages.ca is about dialogue, understanding and positive change. Write as many entries as you like. We're not afraid of new ideas!

One thought on “Obama is a great speaker and mythmaker but…

  1. As my second tweet for this points out, I corrected “Americans say this so many times…” to “Some Americans say this so many times…”

    Although not all Americans outright say it, from the majority whom I’ve met, I have gotten the impression, directly or indirectly, that they thought this to be so. But this differs and is not as strong evidence as actual speech. Hence my correction.

    The exceptional Americans who can see beyond the confines of their cultural conditioning (if that’s what causes it) are, as I say, exceptional. And I’ve met several, on and off the web.

    Like

What are you thinking?

