I thought I’d finished revising my entry on “Science” at earthpages.ca when I encountered this article at Forbes.

Steven Salzberg says

So what’s going on? Was the 2013 study just wrong? It seemed the only way to answer this was to read the new study, written by Anick Bérard and colleagues. Looking over the new numbers, my conclusion is that Bérard simply tortured the data until she got the results–and the press headlines–that they wanted. Let’s look a bit more closely. (emphasis mine)

Rather than integrate this tweet into the earthpages.ca entry, I thought I’d post it here. It illustrates the sociological argument that scientific truth claims do not drop down from heaven but, rather, are all too human statements, often arising out of a muddled and contentious field of power struggles.

Not that I’m anti-science. Far from it. I love all the good things it brings. But scientific abuse is all too common. And in my opinion, not too many people are aware of that.

Here’s the relevant entry at earthpages.ca >> https://earthpages.wordpress.com/2015/12/21/science/